Blog Post

Interesting and Relevant Articles on Fraud Waste and Abuse

What does the required training from CMS consist of?

Written by Admin
Posted On January 06, 2024

CMS (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services) fraud, waste, and abuse training consists of two main components below. Training from encapsulates both components into a single training for ease of deployment and training.

1. General Compliance Training

This part focuses on educating individuals about the broader concepts of compliance, ethics, and regulations related to healthcare programs. It covers the legal and regulatory framework governing healthcare services and payments, with an emphasis on preventing fraud, waste, and abuse. Participants learn about the False Claims Act, Anti-Kickback Statute, and other relevant laws and regulations.

2. Specific Fraud, Waste, and Abuse Training

This part is more targeted and delves into specific tactics and schemes associated with fraud, waste, and abuse in the context of CMS programs. It provides examples and scenarios to help individuals recognize potential red flags or suspicious activities. Participants learn about the common types of healthcare fraud, such as billing for services not rendered, upcoding, and kickbacks. The training also emphasizes reporting mechanisms and the importance of reporting any suspected fraudulent activities.

These two components work together to provide a comprehensive understanding of compliance with healthcare regulations and equip individuals with the knowledge and skills needed to identify and prevent fraud, waste, and abuse in CMS programs. The training is crucial for healthcare professionals, providers, and organizations participating in Medicare and Medicaid to ensure the integrity of these vital healthcare programs.

Your Cart
Your shopping cart is currently empty!

Don't miss out on our amazing training products – start adding items today!